Iowa City Noon Rotary

Proposed New Members –
This posting is effective August 21. Members have until September 1 to express concerns in writing to the Club President. Four people recently met with the Information/Orientation Committee: Devin van Holsteijn (transfer from Cedar Rapids North) proposed by Lynette Marshall in Foundation: Giving; Kingsley Botchway proposed by Joe Hughes in Education: Diversity Administration; Dimy Doresca (transfer from Bettendorf Rotary) proposed by Usha Balakrishnan in Education: International Business; Rabbi Jeff Portman proposed by Jody Braverman in Religion: Clergy (Retired).
New Member Induction –
Tim Heisdorffer (Sponsor Usha Balakrishnan)
William “Bryan” Watson (Sponsor Chuck Skaugstad, Jr.)
Lynette Jacoby, Social Services Coordinator, Johnson County
Terry Neuzil introduced Lynette Jacoby who has been the Social Services Coordinator for the past 4 years and who has been working tirelessly to ensure the investments made in social services are making a difference in the county. Previously, Ms. Jacoby spent 21 years with United Action for Youth spearheading programs for teens and homeless teens and the experience helped to fuel her passions in youth development, hunger initiatives and affordable housing.
The mission of department is to work collaboratively in response to the social services needs of persons living in Johnson County whether through services and programs offered by Johnson County directly, or through cooperative agreements and funding partnerships. Johnson County Social Services provides a wide array of help to families, youth, and individuals residing in the county. It is important to note that 1 out of 4 residents have accessed their services and 70% of the requests they receive are for rental requests. Hunger and affordable housing continue to be a struggle for our residents and that is the area she would focus additional funds were they available.
Oct. 1 – Joint Service Club Luncheon @ University Club
Nov. 5 – Noon Rotary Centennial Celebration at the Iowa Memorial Union
Singing:  Bob Crane led the singing of America the Beautiful and Smile with Jim Conard on the piano.
President Thais had the following announcements:
  • A new general email has been established for the secretary position. All administrative questions can be directed to:
  • Casey Kidwell is assisting with the weekly pre-meeting PowerPoint. Please forward Rotary-related news and photos to Casey at
  • Tom Cilek is asking for input on Rotary programs. There will be a meeting on Tuesday, August 25 at 7:45 a.m. at the West Bank location in Coralville at 401 10th Ave. to discuss future programs.
Centennial Celebration Raffle Ticket Update: The raffle corner will be at the back bar after every meeting if members have questions, need to turn in money or require additional tickets. There will be additional opportunities to sell raffle tickets at other community events. Please consider signing up to sell raffle tickets during our Centennial Year to support our Club projects as well as our local libraries in Iowa City, Coralville and North Liberty!
Joint Service Club Luncheon: Anna Moyers Stone announced that she and Margaret Reese will be available to sell tickets to the annual Joint Service Club Luncheon on Thursday, October 1 before and after meetings for the next six weeks. Tickets are $15 and are required to attend the Oct. 1 meeting. The luncheon is an opportunity to bring area service clubs together to hear speaker, Dr. Jean E. Robillard, the university’s vice president for medical affairs and interim president of the University of Iowa.
Guests and Visiting Rotarians
John Dasher introduced Visiting Rotarian Devin van Holsteijn (CR Metro North); as well as guests Louise Murphy (Earle Murphy), Elizabeth Williams (Bruce Kout), LaTasha DeLoach (Terry Neuzil), Tim Heisdorffer (Jody Braverman), Bryan Watson (Chuck Skaugstad, Jr.), Gordon Fischer (Brenda LaMarche), Karla Earnest (Chuck Coulter), Karen Chappell (Wally Chappell).

Program: Tom Cilek; Attendance: Nancy Droll; Greeters: August 27 - Joe Hughes and Linda Dasher, September 3 - Angela Villhauer and Sherry McKay, and September 10 – Mark Abbott and Brad Johnson.