Iowa City Noon Rotary

New Member Induction –
Patricia Roberts
Classification: Nursing
(Sponsor Usha Balakrishnan)
Amy Boelk
Classification: Personal Services: Health & Wellness
(Sponsor Joe Hughes)
Vanessa McDonald
Classification: Business Services: Consulting
(Sponsor Tom Cilek)
Jeffrey Collier, CEO and Tim Hankewich, Music Director, Orchestra Iowa
Steve West introduced Jeff Collier and Tim Hankewich.
Orchestra Iowa was founded in 1921 and is widely recognized as the state’s premier symphony orchestra. The Orchestra’s mission is to foster enjoyment of, and support for fine symphonic music through quality performances, education and community involvement. Under the direction of Timothy Hankewich, who is in his 10th year as music director, its 68 professional musicians perform more than 180 public performances throughout the year at various Cultural Corridor venues including the Paramount Theatre, the Englert Theatre, the Coralville Center for the Performing Arts and soon at the new Hancher Auditorium later this year. Both Mr. Collier and Mr. Hankewich are passionate about classical music and know that having an active orchestra in the area helps to improve the quality of life for community members, promotes a deeper understanding of different cultures and fosters community pride. Three new faces include Pat Hanick of Iowa City on their Board of Directors; Dawn Gingrich, Concert Master, on the violin; and Laura Usiskin, Christian & Patti Tiemeyer Chair, on the cello.
In addition to its array of performances, Orchestra Iowa is also focused on community education and involvement. Mr. Hankewich noted that “youth concerts are our future”. In Iowa City, Orchestra Iowa has partnered with West Music and the Iowa City Community School District to provide music in every elementary school in our community. This outreach has also taken shape in Cedar Rapids, Marion and Hiawatha. Looking ahead, Orchestra Iowa would like to have an annual presence in Iowa City’s summer festival culture by providing free outdoor concerts. Iowa has a small population so please partner to help the orchestra continue to flourish by purchasing a ticket or tickets to an upcoming performance. An extensive list of programming can be found on their website.   
For additional information, please visit:
  Bob Crane led singing of America the Beautiful with Doris Preucil on the piano and Smile with Maggie Mowery on the piano.
Ride the Goat: The club heard from one goat rider, Melissa Schooley.     
President Thais had the following announcements:
Moment of Silence: for fellow Iowa City Noon Rotarians, George Gay and Kent Braverman and for Barbara Elliott, wife of fellow Iowa City Noon Rotarian Bump Elliott, who passed away recently.
Recognition: Congratulations to Mark Nolte and the ICAD Group. Mark was recently named the Corridor’s Most Influential Person for 2015 by Corridor Business Journal (CBJ) readers.
Cedar Rapids Rotary Club Presentation: President Karl Cassell and President-Elect Dennis Jordan were on hand to present a $1,000 check to our club to help further our RYLA efforts. The Cedar Rapids Downtown Rotary (our club’s sponsor) reached out to make the donation in conjunction with our Centennial celebration. Our club has plans to collaborate with their club in 2016.
Please remember that all members need to go into the ClubRunner system and update their own records in the membership directory as they have changes. We want to ensure that we have the most up-to-date information on all of our members.  Please use this link: and follow information directly from ClubRunner on how to update your individual record.
For questions related to Club administration, please contact us at
Guests and Visiting Rotarians
Curt Heideman introduced Visiting Rotarians Tim Hankewich (Downtown Cedar Rapids), Dennis Jordan (Downtown Cedar Rapids), Karl Cassell (Downtown Cedar Rapids) and Leighton Smith (Downtown Cedar Rapids) as well as guests Jeff Collier (Steve West); Aaron Warner (Mark Nolte); Barbara Werning-Dee (Bruce Kout); Patricia Roberts (Usha Balakrishnan); Amy Boelk (Joe Hughes); Daniel Machlab (Hass Machlab); Brian Middlesworth (Mark Pries).
Program: Tom Cilek; Attendance: Nancy Droll; Greeters: January 14 – Russ Schmeiser and Melissa Schooley, January 21 – Bryan Lawler and Mark Koch, January 28 – HD Hoover and Andre Perry.