Iowa City Noon Rotary

New Member Induction –
Dorothy Maher: Rotarian Mace Braverman introduced Dorothy who he has known since high school. She is a life-long Iowa City resident and is a registered nurse and practicing attorney.
Mary Westbrook: Rotarian Herb Wilson introduced Mary who moved to Iowa City in 1988 and spent most of her career at Pearson until her retirement in 2008. She has served on boards of many organizations over the years and most recently was the interim president for United Way of Johnson & Washington Counties.
Christina Kimerle: Rotarian Verne Folkmann introduced Christina who has worked in the animal industry for 14 years after graduating from a college in Virginia with both a business and animal husbandry degree. She moved to Iowa City in January of 2015 and is responsible for raising money to support the Animal Center through the Friends of the Animal Center Foundation.
Sally Scott:  Rotarian Jody Braverman introduced Sally who he met through the Rabbi Search Committee at their synagogue where Sally has helped with focus groups and surveys. She is also passionate about finding ways to provide affordable housing in our area.
Mike Stoffregen, Executive Director, Community Foundation of Johnson County
Maggie Elliott introduced Mike Stoffregen, Executive Director of the Community Foundation of Johnson County. The Community Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that raises funds, manages resources and distributes grants to local nonprofit organizations. Since founding in 2000, CFJC has raised $20 million in endowed and charitable-giving assets, and nearly $6 million in bequests. In their 15 history with Mike at the helm, CFJC has distributed more than $8.02 million in grants, serving more than 150 nonprofit organizations, individuals and donor-advised funds at a cost of less than 2 percent. CFJC relies heavily on their 35 community member grant review committee to sort through the thousands of asks they receive each year and to determine who will receive grants from the foundation.
At the Community Foundation, they encourage giving for the greater good of the community. Mike highlighted the special flood relief fund that was created in 2008 to accept gifts from those who wished to support Johnson County communities and nonprofit organizations and help them recover from flood-related damages not covered by insurance or other resources. CFJC raised $630,936 and awarded grants addressing widespread floods in the region. Most recently, CFJC partnered with the United Way in 2015 to create the Summership Scholarship program. The vision of this partnership is to send kids to camp that would not be able to attend on their own. By selling 84 Herky statues and putting the proceeds in an endowed fund they were able to provide 84 scholarships this year.
Oct. 1 – Joint Service Club Luncheon @ University Club
Nov. 5 – Noon Rotary Centennial Celebration at the Iowa Memorial Union
Singing:  Bob Crane led the singing of America the Beautiful and Smile with Jim Conard on the piano.
President Thais had the following announcement:
  • Please note that though Gregorio Sanchez is returning home to Xicotepec, Mexico for a brief period, his visiting scholar stay with the College of Public Health has been extended through October and he hopes to find furnished housing as soon as possible. Any help from our members would be greatly appreciated!
Centennial Celebration Raffle Ticket Update: Jody Braverman announced that $10,000 has been collected so far in raffle ticket sales by our members. Raffle tickets will be at the back bar at every meeting if members have questions, need to turn in money or require additional tickets. There will be additional opportunities to sell raffle tickets at other community events. Sign-up sheets are available for the following upcoming events: Fry Fest on September 4 and Move It! Dig It! Do It! on September 20. Please consider signing up to sell raffle tickets during our Centennial Year to support our Club projects as well as our local libraries in Iowa City, Coralville and North Liberty!
For questions related to Club administration, please contact us at
Guests and Visiting Rotarians
Sean McIntyre introduced Visiting Rotarians Brian Adamec (Iowa City AM) and Dimy Doresca (Bettendorf); as well as guests Evan Evans (Wally Chappell); Bob Rehfuss (Bruce Guither); Ellie Alberhasky, James & Stephanie Tutson (Joe Hughes); Gregorio Sanchez (Brad Baldes); Deborah Hoffman (Usha Balakrishnan), Devin van Holsteijn and Ellen Badger (Lynette Marshall); Sally Scott, Jimmy Potosh and Jacob Potosh (Jody Braverman); Christina Kimerle, Sandra Kimerle and Pat Kimerle (Verne Folkmann); Aaron Ditmar and Alissa Adamac-UNI Student (Brian Adamec); James Scott (Chuck Hesse); Fern Parish (Carlin Parish); and Karissa Wikert (Tita Coffman).
Program: Tom Cilek; Attendance: Nancy Droll; Greeters: August 6 – Gene Fisher and Sarah Campbell, August 13 – Glen Meisner and Mark Nolte and August 20 – Earle Murphy and John Dasher.