Iowa City Noon Rotary

Pictured (l-r) are John McNutt of Latta, Harris & Penningroth, Alison Monroe, Kelsey Beasley and Bruce Kout, Rotary Club President.
McNutt/4-H Rotary Leadership Awards
Club member and ISU Extension Regional Director Gene Mohling introduced John McNutt who shared how important 4-H and Rotary were to his father Paul who served  as District Governor, and his mother Mary. The Iowa City Noon Rotary Club presented the McNutt 4-H Rotary Leadership Award to two outstanding Johnson County 4-H youth on April 2.  The recipients are Alison Monroe and Kelsey Beasley, both students at West High School. Alison Monroe is the daughter of Mike and Linda Monroe.  She has served as a Junior 4-H camp counselor and attended the CWF trip to Washington D.C.  She has been involved with Student Senate, 1440 Interact Service Club, and is a member of the National Honor Society. Alison plans to attend the University of Iowa in the fall to study pre-medicine and major in biology. Kelsey Beasley is the daughter of John and Ronda Beasley. She is the president of the 4-H County Youth Council.  She has been involved with Mini Dance Marathon, SADD (Students Against Destructive Decisions), and National Honor Society. Kelsey plans to attend Iowa State University and major in Elementary Education.
Tippie College of Business is a “catalyst for transformation!”
PP Nancy Quellhorst introduced Dean Sarah Gardial.  Dean Gardial reported on the strengths of the college in the “numbers:”  enrollments, entrepreneurial programs , placement rates and national and international rankings.  She also shared the strategic planning vision, emerging initiatives and examples of the CEO/COO alums in Iowa, national and international corporations. 
April 15 -- Outbound Rotary Scholarships applications for the 2015-2016 academic year are due April 15th. Applications and additional information may be obtained at or by contacting Gene Wandling (319-351-1776 Ext 301).  Email:
April 16-18 – Rotary District 6000 100th Conferences: Celebrating Youth
June 8 – Ronald McDonald House Golf Outing
Nov. 5 – Noon Rotary Centennial Celebration at the Iowa Memorial Union
Singing:  Bob Crane with Jim Conard on the piano led the singing of America the Beautiful and Smiles.
  • Roy Justis urged Rotarians to act now and register for District 6000100th Conferences: Celebrating Youth to be held at the Coralville Marriot and Conference Center, April 16 – 18. Registration materials can be reached from the district website:
  • Karin Franklin followed Roy selling tickets for the raffle for 3 exciting prizes to support the District's Youth Services Fund. Karin will be at this week’s coming meeting also! 
  • Usha Balakrishnan and Maggie Mowrey introduced the club to the Tippie  College of Business’ Women in  Business Group which facilitates the mentoring of students with an interest in business.  Several of the student members introduced themselves to the club.
  • Jody Braverman shared a note from Charlie Gay’s family that the sentencing of the driver of the car that resulted in Charlie’s significant injuries will be sentenced on Tuesday and anyone may come to support the Gay family.
Guests and Visiting Rotarians
Nanci Kohl introduced Visiting Rotarians Karin Franklin (Iowa City AM) and Hazel Seabe (Iowa City AM) and guests Christina Kimerle, Ali Rosenberg, Comeisha Hurst, Rebecca Henry and Alex Knebs (Usha Balakrishnan), Sara Smith (Brianna Wills), John Gretter and Dalayne Williamson (Mark Nolte), Minda Hamann, Brad Schooler, Jeff Dancer, Vanessa McDonald, Justin Evans, Lynn Allendorf, Jennifer Ott, Adam Ingersoll Nick Kljaic, and Junjie Shi (Tom Cilek), Casey Kidwell (Steve Quigley), Linda Monroe, Jill Donnenwerth, Mike Monroe, Rhonda Beasley, Kelsey Beasley, Alison Monroe, and John McNutt (Gene Mohling), Dawn Kluber (Barb Thomas), Greg Lamb (Lynette Marshall
Tim Walch, John Culshaw, Linda Farkas, Gary Pacha, Maggie Elliott, Ann Parker, Steve Schomberg, Jody Braverman, Thais Winkleblack (April 2nd Centennial Committee Meeting)
Program: Tom Cilek; Attendance: Nancy Droll; Greeters: April 9 -- John Fraser and Anna Moyers Stone, April 16 -- Tom Markus and Aaron Schaefer, April 23 -- Mark Nolte and Kristin Reynolds, April 30 -- Russ Schmeiser and Chuck Traw, May 7 – Bryan Lawler and Shawn Reineke, May 14 – HD Hoover and Josh Schamberger, May 21 – Carlin Parish and Kathleen Jacobs, May 28 – Don Koch and Adam Pretorius